Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Proseries Updater issues- has Proseries fixed it so that we can do our updates on our schedule yet? If so, do you deactivate the background updates?

mm1
Level 5

Click on Update Installed Products - always says no updates and todays date

Background Updates says - greyed out - activate background updates while we can click on deactivate background updates (should I deactivate background updates?) 

Automatic Updates (task scheduler) is all greyed out

Refresh Updates - we can click on refresh updates for installed products and it will then update.

I have no clue what this background updater does or does not do. I do know that we have had lockups and cannot get into our tax software in the morning (we have multiple scheduled software updates overnight and obviously when Proseries decided to do updates without any input from us, there was a memory overload - it used up all the memory on the workstations. 

I need to be able to let my people manually update the workstations as they come onto the system as some have other tasks before tax returns are worked. By spreading it out manually I don't overload the internet connection so that it is so slow we cannot do anything on client's computers, etc.

1 Best Answer

Accepted Solutions
IRonMaN
Level 15

Have you had any luck going to the computer start menu, clicking on ProSeries and then click "repair updates"?  I had to do that for my own computer to get me to deactivate the updates.

Slava Ukraini!

View solution in original post

16 Comments 16
IRonMaN
Level 15

Do the deactivate thingy - it puts you back in the driver seat to control updates.

Slava Ukraini!
mm1
Level 5

Thank you so much! I was hesitant to do that until I knew I would not take down my whole network because I was not sure Proseries had changed it.

0 Cheers
mm1
Level 5