Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Qualified Charitable Contribution (OCD) from Roll-Over IRA

GodFather
Level 8

MFJ client both 71 years old.  They take the standard deduction each year, with itemized items well below standard.  They would like to make a QCD directly from their Roll-Over IRA.  I have little experience with this.  My research indicates:

- They do not need to make an RMD until they reach 73.

- They can inform their IRA administrator to make the contribution directly to the charity.  Can they consider this amount as their RMD?  If so, I believe the amount would be excluded from their taxable income.

- Can the OCD be considered a charitable contribution, allowing them to itemize?  Since the amount is excluded from taxable income, I would think it would qualify? 

Appreciate any information you can provide. 

Thank you

13 Comments 13
qbteachmt
Level 15

The IRS knows:

https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/qualified-charitable-distributions-allow-eligible-ira-owners-up-to-1000...

"They can inform their IRA administrator to make the contribution directly to the charity."

Have to. Not a Can, but a Must.

"Can they consider this amount as their RMD?"

Yes: https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/reminder-to-ira-owners-age-70-and-a-half-or-over-qualified-charitable-d...

"If so, I believe the amount would be excluded from their taxable income."

Yes.

"Can the OCD be considered a charitable contribution, allowing them to itemize?"

No. It would typically be reportable income and then offset by that deduction. A QCD already excludes the distribution from being reported as income. Can't double-dip it.

"Level Up" is a gaming function, not a real life function.
qbteachmt
Level 15

Oh: check their ages for the tax year you are asking about, for purposes of the RMD and QCD, since everything is a moving target right now.

JRC
Level 8

See Below: