Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

nevermind!

eydf88
Level 1

I stated this would have been my first time trying to help someone to do it, I thought I could come on here and ask for some help instead of being attacked for it. I have been doing taxes for over 15 years, yet never came across this situation and that is why I asked. 

0 Cheers
1 Best Answer

Accepted Solutions
qbteachmt
Level 15

"but where am I supposed to enter the cost of the purchases?"

Think of this as Investment. Not Cost.

"in the cost of goods sold section"

If they are sold, then all costs associated would be Cost of Sales for those units sold, including improvements (repairs) and perhaps financing (flooring).

"but which line? and what other expense can be claimed for them?"

Are you familiar with inventory-driven businesses? Does your client even know how to handle and report to you their inventory data? Are you familiar with the industry, which has some specific quirks? They are working with Titled and Registered property, trade ins, financing of the buying and the selling, etc.

You want to be mentored in this, to learn from it.

"Level Up" is a gaming function, not a real life function.

View solution in original post

0 Cheers
6 Comments 6
IRonMaN
Level 15

Please do your client and yourself a favor and do a little more homework or seek out someone locally to help you.  You don't want to shoot yourself or your client in the foot by preparing a return that you aren't properly trained for.

Slava Ukraini!
qbteachmt
Level 15

"but where am I supposed to enter the cost of the purchases?"

Think of this as Investment. Not Cost.

"in the cost of goods sold section"

If they are sold, then all costs associated would be Cost of Sales for those units sold, including improvements (repairs) and perhaps financing (flooring).