Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Health Savings Account

PATAX
Level 15

Client called, married filing joint and two kids, has a hsa from a prior employer. New employer said it does not offer hsa. What are his options for current contributions? I am not an expert on details of health savings account rules. Thanks a million.

0 Cheers
1 Best Answer

Accepted Solutions
qbteachmt
Level 15

Oh, there are so many provisions...

Even if no longer eligible to contribute, it's still theirs to use, and they can invest it, which you see on "financial hack" lists as "The IRS hates this one trick." They can take distributions after 65 and it's like a Trad IRA, no penalty, even if not used for medical costs. And even though Medicare has a "high deductible" supplemental plan, it isn't HSA eligible. Once you go on Medicare, no more contributions to HSA. There is a one-time conversion provision, from Trad IRA to HSA, that can be useful.

A weird provision kicks in when you have an adult child who is on the parent's plan up to age 26. "The individual must be covered by a High Deductible Health Plan (HDHP) (and have no other health coverage or be enrolled in Medicare) and they may not be claimed as a dependent on someone else’s tax return. Notably, the account owner does not have to be covered under their own healthcare plan, so a young adult who is covered under their parents’ HDHP family plan (and who cannot be considered a dependent on their parents’ tax return) would potentially be eligible to contribute to their own HSA. Further, while spouses can only make combined contributions up to the family maximum contribution limit ($8,300 in 2024), non-spouses covered under the same health plan can make contributions to their own HSA up to the family limit as well."