Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1099-r form with distribution code P

rn22
Level 1

Hello All

I have a client who received a 1099-R form in 2023 with a distribution code of P.

Box 1 is a 280K+ amount, box 2a is 3K+ amount, with federal and state taxes withheld.

Should a separate 1099-r form with code 8 been received? or is everything correct with this single form.

how do I report the amounts?

1. Report the box1 amount as taxable income in 2022 on Schedule 1 other income; and not entering the actual 1099-r form as received.

2. enter taxes withheld on tax payments page.

basically, amend the 2022 return with above changes.

What about box2a amount? where and how does that get reported?

This is my first time encountering this, so not sure what the correct way is.

Thank you for your guidance.

0 Cheers
7 Comments 7
Terry53029
Level 14
Level 14

It sounds like your client removed excess contribution to an IRA. box 1A should be non taxable. Box 2b sounds like the earnings which if earned in 2022 you would have to amend 2022 to add the earnings

rn22
Level 1

Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions.

My concern is over 40K+ were withheld for federal taxes.

If the box1 amount is non-taxable, what's the logic in withholding such an excessive amount?

Thanks again.

0 Cheers
qbteachmt
Level 15

Here is the help article:

https://accountants.intuit.com/support/en-us/help-article/form-1099-r/entering-form-1099-r-proseries...

"how do I report the amounts?"

As 1099-R

"1. Report the box1 amount as taxable income in 2022 on Schedule 1 other income"