Welcome back! Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of tax professionals.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Form1120 or Schedule C or Prepare both C & 1120

nosam
Level 2

Completing form federal 1120  for small business first time filer, where to enter the information on 1040 or do I need to prepare schedule C at the same time or can prepare Schedule C only for 1040?  Thank you  so much for any replies of suggestion.😘

0 Cheers
1 Best Answer

Accepted Solutions
TaxGuyBill
Level 15

@nosam wrote:

This is my first time to do a small business Corporation single owner registered with NY State.  Please help!!!

Is it alright if prepare Schedule Conly

Or 1120 only if so where will I enter the 1120 info on 1040

If you have not done an extensive amount of research on how corporations are taxed, you really should tell the client to go to somebody else to have the corporate return prepared.

If you want to do corporations in the future, it would be a good summer project to do some continuing education classes, research, and some practice returns.

View solution in original post

13 Comments 13
sjrcpa
Level 15

A corporation 1120 and a 1040 Schedule C are mutually exclusive.

Ex-AllStar
nosam
Level 2

Thank you so much for your immediate reply😘, so meaning I have to prepare both 1120 & schedule C entering the same P&L information.

0 Cheers
sjrcpa
Level 15

NO.

Ex-AllStar
TaxGuyBill
Level 15

If they took money out of the corporation, the C-corporation needed to file a W-2 and/or a 1099-DIV to the employee/shareholder.  Then the W-2 and/or 1099-DIV is entered on the 1040.

Because a C-corporation pays its own taxes (unlike a "pass-through" entity like a S-corporation or Partnership), nothing is entered on the 1040 besides the W-2 and/1099-DIV that the shareholder received.

qbteachmt
Level 15

"Completing form federal 1120"